Icy, frosty and cold… just what I wanted

As I was driving down the back lanes on the way to work this morning, past the frosty fields and trees covered in ice, I couldn’t resist going to take a look at the allotment. 

The sun was just above the horizon and the grass was crunching with ice as I walked across the frost. This cold spell was exactly what I was hoping for. It should help to kill any of the bugs that I managed to turn over during the last dig.


When I walked up to the allotment gates they were closed and the place was deserted apart from some birds tweeting in the trees and the distant sound of cars making their commute to work. 

The past few weeks have been exceptionally busy. I am thinking the allotment would be a nice place to spend a day digging and straightening the edges of the grass ready for spring, instead of sitting in an office all day. 

But needs must, and so I head back to my car and join the rat race and instead, plan my next visit. 

Leave a Reply

