Rhubarb stems are starting to grow

I am a little surprised to see the rhubarb already. Small stems and tiny shoots growing out of the central rhizome… I guess it is normal for them to be out so early. Out of the 4 rhubarb plants I have, the three in the central row of my main plot are all sprouting. The fourth (against the wall where it is cold enough for a permanent layer of ice in my water bucket) is still in hibernation. 

We have just had a cold snap, frost and a little snow, but it doesn’t seem to have harmed any of these plants at all. 

But I don’t want to force any rhubarb this year. I have only been growing for 2 or 3 years so I want to let them get stronger before I start to stress the plants. And anyway the rhubarb was really tasty last year without any help. 

Leave a Reply

