January 2017, the first dig-over

Today at 11 o’clock in the morning I went to the allotment to give it the first check of 2017. 

It had been raining most of the week and partly snowing a little, but had been dry since yesterday afternoon, so I decided that was probably enough time for it to dry out and anyway this was probably the only weekend I would have time to visit. 

The digging was quite easy and there were not many weeds. I spent about 2 and a half hours and spent all of my time turning over the soil in the hope that any future cold weather we might have in the rest of January and February would kill any bugs.

Although I have not made any plans for planting this year (apart from potatoes), after today I seem to be forming a pretty good idea of what I will be doing in the coming months. There are no New Year resolutions for me, apart from maybe trying harder not to kill 70% of my potato crops this year by covering them up to much.

On my to-do list will be to sort out the border of the allotment and to remove the last grassy area and also to transplant the compost heap to a different place. All I have to do now is find the time to do these jobs.

Leave a Reply

