Winter clearance is now on

For the first time in weeks: I can’t even remember the last time I went to the allotment. But today is Saturday and I got up and was at the allotment for 9 o’clock. 

I spent two and a half hours clearing the main allotment of weeds, which although it’s autumn have managed to grow quite easily in the warm weather.

The plot is now clear and the only thing remaining is to turn over the soil so, when the cold weather finally arrives it will kill all of the bugs that have managed to stay alive for so long during the mild weather all year. 

I started by getting rid of the tall sunflower plants and then I went across the whole of the allotment plot forking up the small weeds. The weather was slightly drizzly and that made pulling up the weeds really easy but at the same time it turned into a mud bath. I got a lot done all the same.

The grass had managed to grow quite a bit since I last cut it, which must have been at least one month ago — but the weather has been so mild it had really grown. 

For my main plot I am now only one weekend away from finishing it for winter. 

Leave a Reply

