Not much left in the year

There is not much left in the year. And not much left in the days now. The nights are closing in rapidly.

I haven’t been to the allotment for about 2 weeks and when I arrived tonight there were hardly any weeds. That was a fair shock to me. But Autumn has arrived after all.

That is a good thing, but it just shows how much things have changed in the past month. I only managed around 30 minutes tonight before it went dark. The time now is around 7:15 pm and already it is too dark to do anything useful.

image

Although there wasn’t time to do anything meaningful like weeding or cutting the grass, for the first time this year I exited the allotment weighed down with more food than weeds.

My bag of food consists of a cucumber two small beetroot (the other 50 beetroot are still growing well) and another carrier bag full of beans.

It was worth coming tonight to get the beans alone, but I was weighed down with so much that I didn’t pick the marrows… they will have to wait for another time — along with the remaining rows of potatoes that are still in the ground! Maybe tomorrow if I get to leave work on time I can get done more up before the rain hits next week.

Leave a Reply

