Had some help this week

There was a lot done on the allotment this week but most of it not by me. I had a lot of help and when I took a look at the plot most of the weeds had already been pulled up. Thank you for the help from my dad.

image

Because it had been left for about a month with out any attention it was in quite a bad state — the bugs and snails and slugs and caterpillars had run amok. I spend one day cutting the grass and spearing slugs with a piece of bamboo.

image

image

Sunflowers were out however and the bees were around so at least there were some bugs that were having a good time.

On Friday because most of the work had already been done I was able to concentrate on pulling up the potatoes and removing a few weeds from around the cucumber plants that have managed to pop up.

image

image

The beetroot plants that had been put in about 6 weeks earlier were doing really.
On the other hand there were two rows of onions 1 red row and 1 white row. One of the rows had disappeared completely but the other was doing really well. I’m not sure if that was birds or slugs and snails or all 3…

image

I was able to pull up the first of the King Edward potatoes these plants are ready to be harvested.
There are three rows — each row was planted at varying depths to try out the best options. The first few plants from the first row had done well but some of the potatoes seemed a little small.

image

I guess we will see as I pull up the next two rows and as the depth increases we will see the difference.

image

image

image

Finally I have harvested some seeds from the sunflowers. There are two main types that I like and the first seeds are from the yellow sunflower with a slight red tinge. I have collected a head from the red sunflower with the slight yellow edges but I am trying that out and I will collect the seeds later.

Leave a Reply

